Sandy Hook Lighthouse
Gateway National Recreation Area Q1
Route 36 at Sandy Hook, Highlands
Near the tip of Sandy Hook is the oldest working
lighthouse in the United States. Sandy Hook Lighthouse
was first lit on June 11, 1764, to assist ships navigating
into New York Harbor. During the Revolutionary War, this
lighthouse was captured by the British. When patriot
troops tried to destroy it in 1776 to end the occupation,
they found the structure strong enough to withstand their
artillery, and it remained in the hands of the British until
the end of the war. The grounds are open daily, check
the website for tour information.
Sea Girt Lighthouse P12
Ocean Ave. & Beacon Blvd., Sea Girt
In 1889, Congress approved $20,000 for the
establishment of a lighthouse in the vicinity of Squan
Inlet, and the Sea Girt Lighthouse became the last
live-in lighthouse constructed on the Atlantic Coast.
The structure was equipped with a fourth-order Fresnel
lens, lighted by a kerosene lamp, and was visible 16
miles out at sea.
Monmouth County is home to three working lighthouses
that have played key roles in American history.
Visit their websites for touring information.
Twin Lights Q4
Lighthouse Road, Highlands | 732-872-1814
Nowhere else on the eastern seaboard have man and nature conspired to
produce such a magnificent vista. On a clear day, the New York skyline,
Verrazano Bridge, all of Sandy Hook, the ocean, the bay and even Coney
Island can be seen in all their glory. But that’s just one of the reasons to
visit Twin Lights, sitting majestically atop the Navesink Highlands. The
towers connect visitors with a unique combination of history, nature
and technology. The view is spectacular. The museum and grounds are
delightful. And it’s all free.
More than 200 feet above sea level, Twin Lights has stood sentinel over
the coastal waters of northern New Jersey since 1828. As the primary
seacoast light for New York Harbor, it was the brightest light on the Atlantic
Coast for generations of seafarers. The first Fresnel lens was used here,
and it was one of the first electrically lit lighthouses in the country. Twin
Lights was decommissioned in 1949, and today visitors can tour the
gallery and lighthouse, see the 9-foot bivalve lens on display and climb the
North Tower for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. Twin Lights is
listed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places. If you’re into
Geocaching or Letterboxing, visit the Twin Lights on Saturday and Sunday
afternoons to discover interesting features about the lighthouse. Go to
twinlightslighthouse.com for hours of operation and additional information.
Photo by Michael Colarusso
Photo by Michael S. Miller