1-3 years old
Use a rear-facing child car seat until they outgrow
the weight and height limit of the child
Normally when children are over 1 year old
and weigh over 20 pounds, you can switch to
a forward-facing car seat.
4-7 years old
Use a forward-facing child seat until they
reach the weight and height limits recommended
by the manufacturer.
8-12 years old
Use a booster seat in the back seat until your
child is big enough to use the car’s seat belt.
Never put your child in the front of a vehicle
with a passenger air bag. It is always safest
for your child to ride in the back seat.
SEAT BELT LAWS
The Florida Department of Highway Safety
and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires you to
wear a seat belt while in an operating vehicle
if you are:
• The driver of the vehicle
• A front seat passenger of any age.
• Under 18 years old
CELL PHONE USE
As of October 1, 2013, it is illegal to text while
driving. This applies to all drivers, regardless
of age. There are no talking bans on cell
phones while driving.
LICENSES & TAXES
HUNTING & FISHING
Purchase licenses through the county tax col-
or major retailers that sell sporting goods.
Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation
North Central Region
Hunter Education Information
North Central Region
Online Permits & License Information
In Pinellas County, it is required by law that
pet owners obtain licenses for their cats and
dogs. In order to obtain a pet license, each
dog and cat over the age of four months must
an exemption letter from their veterinarian.
is obtained, the form is brought or mailed to
Pinellas County Animal Services and a license
STATE TAX SYSTEM
Tax Information Services
Florida Department of Revenue (DOR)
5050 W. Tennessee Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0100
SALES TAX AND THE PENNY
Florida’s sales tax rate is six percent. The
Penny for Pinellas is an additional 1 percent
sales tax dedicated to capital improvement
projects in Pinellas County, such as facilities,
stormwater improvements, preservation land
purchases, roads, bridges, public safety, parks
and community centers.
The Penny makes capital projects and
improvements possible without having to
raise property taxes. Without this funding, it
is estimated that property owners would have
to pay another 2 mills on their property taxes.
With a sales tax, approximately one-third of
the total Penny funds are paid for by tourists
and seasonal residents.
Beginning January 1, 2007, individuals,
married couples, personal representatives
of estates, and businesses are no longer
property tax return reporting their stocks,
bonds, mutual funds, money market funds,
shares of business trusts, and unsecured
Not all intangible taxes have been repealed.
Please consult your tax preparer for any Florida
intangible taxes that may apply to you.
AD VALOREM (PROPERTY) TAX
Ad valorem property taxes are assessed by
the county property appraiser. They are col-
A $25,000 homestead exemption is available
to those who meet certain criteria. Contact
Urban Style Flats
300 10th St S
930 Central Flats
930 Central Ave
Azure Apartment Homes
540 Trinity Ln N
Bay Area Apartment Association
19031 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Booker Creek Apartments
2468 13th Ave N
CHAF Properties, LLC
2675 50th Ave N
235 3rd Ave N
Flagler Pointe Apartments
2540 Roy Hanna Dr S
Fusion 1560 City Apartment Homes
1560 Central Ave
Hermitage Apartment Homes
151 7th St S