To register and vote, you must be 18 years of
age, a citizen of the United States of America,
a legal resident of Florida and of Pinellas
County. You can pre-register on or after your
16th birthday and may vote in any election
held on or after your 18th birthday. To register
application. Voter registration applications
Division of elections, any federal and statedesignated
voter registration agency (i.e.,
persons with disabilities, any armed forces
and other public locations (e.g., shops that
download and print the application form
from the Division of Elections’ website at:
In Pinellas County, the Pinellas County
for registering to vote, locating voting pre-
POLITICAL PARTY HEADQUARTERS
National Democratic Committee
Florida Democratic Party
Republican National Committee
Florida Republican Party
League of Women Voters LWV of Florida
LWV is a bipartisan organization with the
mission of encouraging voter participation,
advocating voter reforms, and educating the
public about candidates and issues.
Albert Whitted Airport
Tampa International Airport
Sarasota Bradenton International Airport
Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority
INTRA & INTERSTATE
Amtrak Passenger Rail
Greyhound Bus Lines
By Florida Law, if you have a driver’s license
from another state, you need to obtain a
within 30 days of residency.
ID requirements for getting a Florida
Drivers License are quite stringent. An out-ofstate
driver’s license does not serve as a form
of ID. Please consult the DMV website for
accepted forms of ID.
If you have a current out-of-state driver’s
license, your driving record will be checked.
If you have outstanding citations or other
blemishes on your driving record, you may be
required to take the written Florida DMV test.
If your out-of-state driving record is clean,
there is no automatic requirement to take the
You will be required to take a vision test.
If the examiner questions your ability to
safely operate a vehicle, for any reason, you
may be requested to take a written and/or
driving test. It’s best to call a local driver’s
If you have a vehicle, you will need to get
Florida auto insurance and have the vehicle
registering the vehicle.
First-Time Driver Requirements
If you have never had a driver’s license, you
will be required to complete the four-hour
also need to take the DMV written test on
road signs and road rules which can also be
DMV Written Test
The DMV written test is available at your local
after completing the DATA course. Once you
the DATA and DMV tests, you must make an
take the road test.
If you are a new resident of Florida, state law
requires that you register your vehicle within
10 days after engaging in an occupation in
Florida or entering a child in a Florida school.
First you will need to obtain a Florida driver’s
license and auto insurance from a company
licensed in Florida. Many auto insurance
companies licensed in Florida provide online
services. At the DMV you’ll also need your
When you are issued a motor vehicle registration,
you will receive a license plate, vehicle
County Tax Collector
MANDATORY AUTO INSURANCE
Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal
injury protection and $10,000 property
damage liability. Bodily injury liability may
also be required depending upon your driving
record. For questions about insurance,
Florida Department of Highway Safety
& Motor Vehicles
FLORIDA CHILD CAR SEAT LAWS
It is the responsibility of the supervising adult
to ensure that any child under 5 years old is
seated in a federally-approved child car seat.
3 points against your driver’s license.
Use the following car seat guidelines from
the FLHSMV while driving with a child in your
Birth – 1 year old
Use a rear-facing child car seat.
22 'BURGLIFE | Living, Working and Playing in St. Petersburg, FL